Thoughts from the Nebulizer

It’s days like today that I start to realize just how lucky I am and how much I take for granted on a daily basis. Let’s go through my usual routine: Let my alarm go off every five minutes for an hour. Roll out of bed. Throw on some clothes and, if the world is lucky, a minimal amount of makeup. Possibly eat something or pack it to eat in class. Trudge to class, headphones blaring. Find a seat. Try to pay attention. Pack up. March to another class, headphones blaring. Or home. Or anywhere. No stopping. No breathing in the fresh air. No sitting on the Green. No kicking a ball or tossing a frisbee.

And I get it. Some days I’m busy. I tend to over-extend myself because I have a hard time saying no. And because I truly want to participate in everything that I commit myself to. But today, I got out of my physics class, and I had an hour before my standing Tuesday lunch date with my dad. It was warm, and all I wanted to do was plop down on the grass like a lot of my fellow students had decided to do. Or go for a run, which I think I saw half of the UD population doing today. 32 days. That’s how long I have until I’m supposed to be running a half marathon. But I can’t lace up my shoes. Not today. Because asthma strikes again.

I think that when I’m healthy, I forget how much it sucks to be sick when no one can outwardly tell. Unless you’re obnoxiously close to me, you won’t hear me wheezing. You can’t feel the minimal amount of air entering and exiting my lungs. You can visibly see me walk to class five times slower than usual. You can watch me gasp for air halfway up the stairs in Gore. I’ll even let you laugh a little. But it’s not really funny. It’s actually pretty serious. So if you’re not holed up sucking down albuterol, don’t take your health for granted. Go out and do something active, especially as the weather starts to warm up. I know the second I’m well enough to run, White Clay and I will be spending a significant amount of time together.

Leave a Reply

